History & Staff
We have years of experience caring for families, from all walks of life. Each family comes to us because they know we are leaders in our profession, dedicated to excellence in service, and have the highest integrity.
In the 1800's, casket companies did not exist. Skilled woodworkers who were cabinet makers and furniture makers by trade, were relied on to make coffins. Many of these individuals not only ran their furniture businesses, but also became undertakers as well. It was not uncommon to divide their building with the furniture store in front and the undertaking business in the back.
Weigel Funeral Home had a similiar start in 1880, when cabinet maker William Tekulve of the neighboring town of Morris, opened "William Tekulve Undertaker." Two of six children, Mary and Charles Tekulve, eventually joined their father in the funeral business.
In 1906, Mary wed William Weigel and moved to Batesville to start a family. Several years after the wedding, her father died and her brother Charles continued to run the business until his sudden death in 1913. At that time, Mary's husband William, who worked for the American Furniture Factory in Batesville, left his job with the furniture company and with his brother-in-law Joseph Burst, moved the undertaking business to Batesville and changed the name to "Weigel & Burst Undertakers". William Weigel died suddenly on 1930 and Mary, mother of 12 children, found herself back in the funeral business, taking over for her husband.
In the coming years, the Weigel & Burst partnership was disolved and Mary's eldest son Sylvan, joined his mother as a partner in the M.C. Weigel & Son Funeral Home.
Prior to 1933, the state of Indiana did not require funeral director and embalmer licenses. With the new law, individuals already engaged in business were exempted from needing to obtain them. Regardless of the exemption, Mary completed the required schooling and became one of the first women in the state to obtain her funeral director and embalmers licenses'. Sylvan obtained his the following year.
Ron's mother Rose joined the firm in 1978 when Ron purchased it and assisted in various capacities for 30 years. Although now retired, Rose remains an enduring part of the funeral home's legacy. Ron's brother Chuck, who joined the firm in 1986, is a director's assistant and keeps a full schedule with his many responsibilities at work and two young sons and daughter at home.
After many years of commitment to families of the Batesville area, Ron sold the business in the fall of 1995. Although the funeral home is no longer owned by the Weigel's, families still see the familiar faces of Chuck and Ron along with the "new guy", Jay Reichmuth, who joined the firm in 1996.
In June of 2005, we closed our location on Walnut Street, which served the Batesville area as a funeral home for over 100 years and moved to our new building at 151 West George Street.
Our Valued Staff
Michael Roemmich Director
Ron Weigel Director
Chuck Weigel Administrative Assistant
Sue Siefert Administrative Assistant
Jay Reichmuth Director
November 10, 1961 - July 31, 2023
Rose Weigel Retired Service Assistant
December 20, 1927 - June 20, 2023